From the back cover:
Built in 1929, the Boathouses of Encinitas have captured the attention of locals and tourists alike for decades. Their architect, Miles Minor Kellogg, shared the creative flair and religious fervor of his distant cousin Dr. John Harvey Kellogg and had a passion for invention, music and poetry. A talented carpenter, Miles built his first house at seventeen and worked his way cross-country until settling with his family in the growing town of Encinitas. His construction company, Kellogg and Son, helped transform the landscape, and the unique bungalows were the culmination of his dream to build a boat. Join author Rachel Brupbacher as she traces the steps of her ancestor and one of San Diego County’s most innovative architects.